Dyeing Yarn

Posted: April 14, 2010 in Ramblings
 
Recently I bought  this yarn from Blue Heron yarns.  I love the yarn – sock/DK weight, merino and actual silver metal.  Soft and nice!  But I didn’t like the color as much in person.  (Blue Heron’s website colors are really rather odd compared to the actual yarn.)
 

So, this was supposed to be part of that lime & purple thing I was telling you about…but, it’s too green, not limey enough.  Today I’m overdyeing it.  I’ll report back.

Ah, I also tossed this in the pot.  It was on sale at Ben Franklin (20% off, cashmere & silk), so I bought it, but I don’t like the brown color.

Here is the finished yarn.  All four skeins were done in a crock-pot bath of Gaywool "Aster" dye.

You can see that the Blue Heron yarn didn’t take up the dye as well as the Consonance.  The green overdyed to blue – which is fine, and looks good as a variegation.  I was hoping to be able to mix these two in a project, but I’m not sure that will work.  Heck!  Instead of four skeins that weren’t going to work in my projects, I have four skeins that aren’t going to work in ANY projects!  Ah, you know me, I’ll think of something.

Leave a Reply

