A Break from Designing

Posted: April 18, 2010 in Ramblings
 
I’m still working on the empire dress design, but I took a break this week to knit myself a hat, because I’ve been so cold lately!  The doctor changed my thyroid medication, and that might have something to do with it (I have an appointment with her tomorrow to discuss this).  Anyway, I grabbed a few fine yarns from the stash and knitted up a basic hat using my "Super Easiest Coolest Hat" pattern from the Kaleidocherry website.
 
Yarns used for the hat:
 
  • Filatura di Crosa "Superior" in periwinkle
  • Jade Sapphire Cashmere/Silk in "Curacao"
  • Orkney 100% Angora in pale mint

The doily (which I used as a leafy accent) is done with Jojoland 2-Ply cashmere in sage green.  You can’t see them but there are little beads on the points of the doily where it is sewn down.

I admit it’s not flattering – making my head look like a giant beach ball – but it is warm, and i only plan to wear it around the house. Soft, too.  The only possibly bad thing is that when I wear it, my eyes get a bit itchy.  I really hope this is due to the angora – I know it’s not silk, and I REALLY, REALLY HOPE that I am not allergic to cashmere! 

Leave a Reply

