The Sketchbook Project Begins

Posted: June 13, 2010 in Ramblings
 
It actually wasn’t until this evening, when Alex and I began work on our sketchbooks, that I realized that a "sketchbook" is not necessarily going to work well for all media.  We all dabble in all sorts of art here:  watercolors, marker, calligraphy, acrylics, oil pastels, colored pencils, egg tempera, and pen & ink (I think that’s about the extent of it – not counting 3-D media like metal clay, glass, knitting and painting miniatures).  The wet media aren’t doing so well on this.  Alex is using watercolor colored pencils and they’re bleeding not only through the page he’s working on, but onto the next clean page as well.  I have given him a thick piece of cardboard to use as a separator, but the first couple of pages are a bit iffy at this point.
 
I haven’t figured out what to do about the front cover yet (besides the greasy fingerprints) but I started the first page of the book as if the entire book is going to be a final exam project.  Here is my first page.  The spilled ink is still wet in the photo, but generally this gives the entire idea.  I didn’t bother too much with the intricacies of calligraphy, mainly because I couldn’t find my nib holder.  I ended up doing it with a magic marker.  Crying face
 

An interesting side note will be to look at the "mistakes" and see if they appear to be anything.  Rorschach-like.  This one above looks like a big horse-legged demon standing on 2 legs.

Leave a Reply

