Lace Knitting

Posted: June 28, 2010 in Ramblings
 
You know I don’t do a lot of fancy knitting.  I designed and started knitting an Aran pullover in 2004 – 2004! – and got the front and part of the back done, and put it on a shelf because I couldn’t be bothered to do all that chart checking and stitch counting.  It’s still up in the sewing room.  Maybe someday I’ll go back to it.  Bleah. 
 
But then I recently knit that little doily thing for the top of the Bunnyfox hat, and that was easy and quick.  Of course, it was much smaller than an Aran pullover Sarcastic smile  So… I’ve got a lot of cashmere odds and ends in my stash and was wondering what to do with it.  Not enough of anything to do a sizeable project on its own, but by stranding a few of them together it makes a nice DK-weight yarn (like the Bunnyfox hat was) and makes the yardage last longer.  So I decided to knit a lace shawl.  Why a shawl?  Don’t know!  I don’t wear them and have never knit one before, but I think it was from searching Ravelry for free lace patterns that use DK weight, and this shawl pattern from Knitting Daily came up.  It’s cute, it looks easy, and it matched my criteria.  I may end up buying a ball of yarn to complete it (ha, buying more yarn in order to use up existing stash!), but it looks like it’ll be a good one. It’s really, really easy!
 
The show so far:  eight repeats of the pattern.  Yarns used are Filatura di Crosa Superior (my all-time favorite yarn, a brushed cashmere/silk blend, ball shown in the pic) in pale blue, Jade Sapphire cashmere/silk in Curacao (leftovers from the empire dress), and Jojoland cashmere in sage green (leftovers from the Bunnyfox hat).  It looks like an ocean wave pattern to me (in this color) so that’s what I’m calling it, the Ocean Wave, although it looks vaguely peacocky, too (cough).
 
 

I have to do 60 repeats of the pattern before finishing.  Check back in a month or so.

Leave a Reply

