A “PS” to Machine Knitting

Posted: July 18, 2010 in Ramblings
 
I just discovered that there is a machine called a linker, or linking machine, which is basically like a sewing machine that makes chain stitches, but it (a) uses your choice of yarn, rather than thread, and (b) allows you to easily get exact stitch placement so you end up with a straight seam.  (I really wish I’d known about these machines years ago…all those pullovers I’ve made would have been SO much easier!)  Someone was auctioning a brand new one on ebay, and the bids were less than 1/3 of the retail price, so I bid…and won!  It should be here this week.  I’ll report back.  There are a few recent projects hanging around waiting for the linker to arrive.  I can test the linker, and finish the projects, probably by Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

