Microwave Dyeing

Posted: January 30, 2011 in Ramblings

I looooooooooooove microwave dyeing.  This afternoon I was working with a red/black striped yarn.   It would have been much better to use a skein of solid black for the edging on this (instead of having to remove sections of red from the stripey yarn ball and use it that way).   I DO have a skein of the same base yarn and it’s in colors that aren’t working for me… and black dye and citric acid and a microwave.  Voila, not half an hour after having my thought, there is a skein of black yarn hanging in front of the fireplace to dry. 

Now I just need a bigger microwave container.  This one only holds one skein at a time.

Leave a Reply

