Marketing

Posted: September 1, 2012 in Ramblings

It’s something I’m no good at.  I don’t really like to push myself forward; my method of marketing is to list things for sale and hope someone stumbles upon them and finds them worthy of purchase.  Not to mention that I find it difficult to think up clever marketing slogans or tactics that don’t come across as twee.  Just today I saw two different marketing slogans, and the comparison reminded me of why I’m afraid to try this.

One of my favorite online retailers, kpixie.com, has an awesome and short slogan:  “Rockin’ your stash.”  I like it.  It’s short and to the point, and fun.

I won’t name the other retailer or their exact slogan, because I’d hate for people to do that to me, but the second one was clunky and too long.  Trying to convey the same information as “Rockin’ your stash,” they instead ended up with something similar to “Allowing you to evade stash purchase limits since XXXX” (year).  That’s paraphrased because I don’t like to point fingers.  But, wow!  How awkward.  I actually had to go back and reread it a few times to get the gist of it.  When I’d deciphered it (and translated it as, basically, “Rockin’ your stash since XXXX”), I spent some time musing on the nature of marketing before coming to write this post.  If I tried to make up a marketing slogan for Kaleidocherry it’d probably be just as dumb and klugey as that one.  My current slogan is “Colors for your life,” which is kind of boring, but it’s better than being stupid!

Okay.  Marketing rant over.  Thanks for listening, and also, happy 50th anniversary, Mom and Dad!

Cutest parents ever!

 

Leave a Reply

