Cardiology

Posted: August 4, 2015 in Ramblings

Just had my annual EKG, echocardiogram, blood work and office visit.  Everything is well; there is no appreciable deterioration of the aortic valve since last year.  EKG and blood work are on target for my age group, and readings are the same as last year.  Just in case anyone wants to know.

She did say that because it’s difficult to get a good view of the aortic valve, next year they might do an echocardiogram through my throat, which almost made me gag right there in the office!  But I hope it won’t come to that.  I presume they’d give me some kind of drug to either numb my throat or put me to sleep so I’m not gagging when they actually do it.  Have any of you had this type of procedure?

Comments
  1. vallere says:

    I get an ultrasound every year, which seems to satisfy my doctors that my aortic valve is OK.   Yes, I had an esophageal ultrasound and you are correct, they will numb your throat and put you into a twilight zone. (Cue eerie music). If you need to get your valve replace, I recommend a porcine (pigs) valve.  You won’t need blood thinners.  Some surgeons (usually Jewish and Islamic doctors) will only use bovine (cow) or homograft (human) valves, but they do not last as long as the porcine valves.  Put this off as long as possible.  I was 55 when I got my first one and may need a third one within the next six to ten years.  “The odds on survival go down with each operation, but there is no alternative, is there?  Bove says I should qualify for a TAVR (Transcatheter Aortic Valve Replacement) the next time, which is less traumatic than the open heart procedure.

  2. Mary Vallere says:

    Yes, I had that procedure – you’ll never know it happened – out like a light!

Leave a Reply

