Too many colors in the world…

Posted: August 29, 2016 in Ramblings

I have been designing a shawl (pattern) which is finally ready for test-knitting.  The general design idea is ‘something Jane Eyre would wear while walking on the moors.’  It will have an old-fashioned lacy motif, maybe multiple lace motifs, and be knit with a rustic singles yarn, Madelinetosh Tosh Merino Light.

I simply can’t decide what kind of colors to use.  My yarn bucket has a lot of greeny-bluey stuff, and I do love greeny-bluey stuff, but I knit with it all the time!  I feel like I ought to branch out and knit with some other combo.  Let me know your thoughts.  First of all, do you think these color combos are good, in and of themselves, and second of all, do they seem Jane-Eyre-ish enough, or are they too modern?

Combo 1:

  • Dark greeny-bluey
  • Medium greeny-bluey
  • Light greeny-bluey with pale mocha
  • Pale mocha with cream
  • Cream

Combo 2:

  • Fiery red
  • Bright orange
  • Medium orange-yellow
  • Medium yellow
  • Pale yellow

(That one worries me because I can’t quite see J.E. knitting herself such a vivid, flaming shawl.)

Combo 3:  Dark navy shading to pale blue or even cream

Combo 4:

  • Dark blackish-brown
  • Medium brown
  • Medium orange-brown
  • Light orange-brown
  • Pale orange-brown

Combo 5:  solid pale grey throughout (this does seem very appropriate to the J.E. era, but would be terrifically boring to knit!)  Any other solid colors you think would suit?  The lower edge (last 2 colors) needs to be pale, because the most intense lace work is there, and in a dark yarn it will be obscured.

Combo 6:  Deep plum shading to pale pinkish/lavender or even cream

A color combo has to be interesting enough to hold my attention while I’m working on it, and this project is likely to take 2-3 months, once it’s started.  So…I can tell you right now the solid grey is not going to happen.  Probably the brown/orange combo ditto.

What do you think?  Are any of these glaringly bad?  Any that you love?  I’ve been knitting for 17 years, and have pretty much knit something with every possible color combo, otherwise this shawl would be “knit with some combo I’ve never tried.”  Argh.  Thanks.

(My Ravelry file has 320 projects, and that’s only since 2009.)

 

 

Leave a Reply

