Midlife Crises

Back in my late 30s, I decided that after age 40, I’d stop coloring my hair.  (Prior to this, except during my pregnancy, I had been pretty manic about changing haircolor, sometimes going very extreme, on a fairly regular basis.)  My reason was that there are a lot of older women around – women with, shall we say, “aged faces” – who dye their hair to a dark color and look wrong as a result.  I didn’t want to be one of them.

From age 40 to 51 I adhered to that rule.  My only fall from grace was a light dusting of blonde highlights in the fall of 2013, but they were almost unnoticeable, so that doesn’t count.

But for some reason, last month I suddenly had a very strong urge not just to color my hair, but to go fairly extreme again.  After waffling for a while, I decided to do one last haircolor hurrah, and be done with it.  Tonight this extravaganza took place, thanks to Andrea at the Regis salon in Sammamish (she’s been my on-and-off stylist for about 8 years).

First step:  coloring the hair red-violet, except for the places where the color streaks would be; those were bleached out at the same time.

Second step:  applying the color for the streaks.

Third step:  cut and blow-dry.  (Normally I let my hair air-dry, so this very smooth look is not something that’s likely to reoccur.)

Here are the results.  I absolutely love how this turned out.  I’m sure at least one reader is going to think of the ‘circus pony’ analogy, but I don’t care!

Side view, resting phase.
Side view, resting phase.
Back view.
Back view.
Here you can see how Andrea did the color streaks underneath an upper layer of the violet red, so the colors would peek through but not be blatant.
Here you can see how Andrea did the color streaks underneath an upper layer of the violet red, so the colors would peek through but not be blatant.

2 thoughts on “Midlife Crises

Leave a comment