A Bunny-Centric Day

Alex and I came down to find two bunnies loafing around the back yard, eating grass, looking nonchalant.  Eventually Max and Bickie spotted them, too, and wanted to go out.  At the sound of the back door, one rabbit scurried up into the rose bed and the other one froze.

The cats sat on the back stoop for 5 minutes and then came in, acting even more nonchalant than the rabbits.  The frozen bunny eventually thawed out and started eating again.

Max wanted to go out again, so I let him out.  Ten minutes later I peeked outside, and he was napping on a lawn chair while a rabbit ate grass about 10′ away from him!  I don’t know whether his eyes aren’t good enough to spot it, or whether he’s just too damn lazy to chase rabbits these days.  The bunny certainly didn’t seem bothered.

Later, Chris and I went for our walk, and we encountered a rabbit calmly eating grass about six feet from us.  He (or she) glanced up, checked us out, and went back to eating, even though we stopped so Chris could take a pic with his phone:

The bun and me, watching one another.
The bun and me, watching one another.

So, when he (or she) failed to react to any of this, we walked on, and about 100 yards later spotted two more.  Chris said, “They’re breeding like rabbits!” which actually did make me laugh.

Buns #2 and #3, with me.  These two were a little more skittish.
Buns #2 and #3, with me. These two were a little more skittish.
Up close of Bun #2.
Up close of Bun #2.

Between here and home we saw no more rabbits.  Alex did take a picture of the two this morning, so I’ll see if I can get him to blog about it.