Calendars

It’s time for another one of my philosophical rants.

Why does February only have 28 days?  I realize for the true answer to this question I’d have to time-travel back to Caesar’s Rome, when the current calendar was set, but it still bugs me.  Why didn’t they pilfer 2 days from the ’31-day’ months and whack them into February to make it 30 days?  February could still be the leap year month by turning it into a 31-day month in leap years.  It just seems so sloppy.

In “Pogo,” Churchy is constantly trying to reform the calendar (usually into an entire year of October, because that’s when his birthday is), and I read two different sequences about that, last week.  Then today I’m reading John Maddox Roberts’ “The Year of Confusion,” which deals with Caesar’s implementation of the new calendar.  So this got me thinking, and this is why I came to write this post.

 

One thought on “Calendars

  1. Our current calendar was commissioned by Pope Gregory. There have been many proposals to have thirteen months of 28 days, but they have never caught on. We would still have a leap day every once in a while. This of course is an improvement over the Roman calendar which had 12 days at the end of the year to get things aligned. Hence the twelve days of Christmas.

Leave a comment